Its also gluten free
Fairly certain Oreos are made with non vegan sugar.
I didn’t know sugar could be non-vegan.
The sugar is harvested from exotic cat shit.
What makes the cat shit exotic?
I happen to have a bunch. Should I take it into Antiques Roadshow?
It was a joke for people that know things ;)
White cane sugar is processed through bonemeal to make it white.
That doesn’t make sense. Sugar is cooked to separate the molasses from the sucrose and the resulting clear sugar is what appears white. Bone meal would cause weird crystals nucleation around the powdered bone and sugar crystals would look uneven, like a chalky Sugar In The Raw large grain.
I would love to learn more about how white sugar keeps a uniform shape after bone meal processing. Food science is fascinating. Have a link?
BTW that’s only for sugar from cane sugar. In Europe we mostly use sugar beets and the processing is a little different
Sorry, it is bone char that is used, not bone meal.
https://explainthat.org/is-white-sugar-vegan-the-truth-about-bone-char/
Twinsies, almost.
Usually when people talk about sugar they mean beet sugar, your link is about cane sugar… Who even needs to whiten cane sugar? It’s always been yellowish
They whiten it to get… white sugar
In the Americas you basically only get cane sugar. The other way around in Europe, where it’s basically all beet sugar
In Europe we use mostly sugar beets as base for sugar production. As far as I’m aware it’s processing is vegan. So it depends where they produce it and source their ingredients.
Wrong, imperialists are non-vegan by default.
While I don’t know about Oreos, ingredients also vary by region. A number of products have different ingredient lists depending on if you buy them in Canada or the US. So something that is considered vegan/vegetarian in one region, is not in the other region.
I don’t think the definition of “vegan” changes across borders
And that is not what the otter said
That’s pretty much exactly what they said.
No they said the ingredients might change. And if there is suddenly an ingredient added or changed to one that is not vegan, the whole product is not vegan anymore.
But that does not mean the definition or vegan is changing?
To clarify, ingredients are different on each side of the border. So the same product has vegan ingredients on one side, and non-vegan ingredients on the other
I also edited my original comment to be clearer
Oh, really? They taste like chemicals though
They are just a shit version of Bourbon biscuits.
The trans-fats used to cover the taste of chemicals, now that they’re removed it’s just naked.
Good reminder that preservatives and sugar are vegan I guess.
In the US, a lot of sugar is processed with bone char, which makes it non-vegan.
What The fuck?
It’s just charcoal filtering (which is a process used in many, many food and drink processes), but one source of industrial quantities of charcoal comes from charred bones (after the proteins are extracted making soup or whatever).
It’s called “creme” because there’s no cream involved, and regular chocolate is inherently vegan.
oreos are shit biscuits.
It’s the sugar that makes them shit, even if you take exception to nothing else.
Also exploring ultra-processed food, which I think is against the spirit of veganism. The few vegans I know make everything themselves from stuff that’s one step away from being pulled from the ground or a plant.
I was a junk food Vegan for several years and only switched to a cleaner and less processed (but still vegan) diet this year after I saw my (nonvegan) parents suffering from life-threatening food-related diseases.
The spirit of veganism is excluding consumption of things that result in animal cruelty, exploitation, or death. There is no requirement to avoid ultra-processed foods
but it’d probably be very good to, wouldn’t it?
Sure, and many vegans do end up eating less ultra processed foods. But my point is that eating healthier isn’t what being vegan is about. Vegan isn’t a diet like many people think. It’s a way of life to reduce and eliminate harm to animals
No? Nothing forces food processing to be unethical.
So palm oil is definitely something that makes a product non-vegan, right?
Two things can make Oreos not vegan:
- some flavors just aren’t (the flavors that are vegan are just accidentally vegan)
- some factories use bone-char sugar.
In both EU countries I lived, the cheapest cookies used to be cream-(or rather creme-)filled sandwich cookies. They were completely vegan and cheaper than most bread. There was nothing bad in them at all (excluding palm fat I guess).
There’s always a few products like that to be found on the bottom shelves - the cheapest and miraculously also one of the best.
As long as you think sugar is okay?
Yeah, why would anyone want their dessert to be sweet? For me a glass of water is enough because I’m better than everybody else.
I’m not suggesting you eat those instead of bread.
To be a little pedantic: That’s just plant-based…ism? Veganism isn’t inherently about food (although that is a big part of it ofc :3 )
Sadly, Oreos appear to no longer be vegan - at least in right now, in Germany. For foods like cookies, instant noodles, and similar foods that are usually made in huge factories with a lot of other products, you’d see a note telling that the product may contain traces of xyz. A couple years back, you’d see that note on a pack of Oreos, ie. “may contain traces of milk” and possibly some nuts or something. These days, it says “may contain milk” which is an important distinction to make. Apparently, the factory gives themselves the leeway to substitute parts of the vegan ingredients with non-vegan ones if it’s more financially viable to them. The usual formula might be vegan, but you’d have no way of knowing if this particular batch happens to not have any non-vegan ingredients in them
This isn’t a legal loophole, the disclaimer is just unregulated and might not hold up in court. All ingredients have to be listed under ingredients, if they’re contained:
https://www.lebensmittelklarheit.de/fragen-antworten/unterschied-kann-spuren-von-und-kann-xy-enthaltenThat being said, I, too, started avoiding Burger King, when their allergy information sheet contained all three versions of this disclaimer. (“May contain”, “May contain traces of” and “May be cross contained with”)
The usual formula might be vegan, but you’d have no way of knowing if this particular batch happens to not have any non-vegan ingredients in them
[X] Doubt
You’re basically saying it’s ok to lie about the ingredients if it’s financially cheaper than using the ingredients listed, which sounds like weapons grade horseshit.
Never heard of that loophole before, got a source for me to read more?
You’re saying, in Germany, that the ingredients list is a lie if the package contains an allergy warning?
Ediacarium left out an important word from the article they cited: “All purposefully added ingredients have to be listed under ‘ingredients’”. This includes accidental cross-contamination.
The reason why produces seem to be moving away from the phrase ‘traces of’ is because it might lead the consumer to get a wrong picture of how much contamination happened. From the article:
“‘May contain traces of…’ can give the impression that allergens are contained inadvertently and only in small amounts, but that may not be the case for chunky contaminants like nuts.”
I’m still mad at nabisco for adding soy to the Oreo recipe. And Nilla wafers.
They were my only safe cookies I didn’t have to bake myself and weren’t exorbitantly priced like “organic” brands. Now I have to pay like $8+ for a tiny pack of off brand “sandwich cookies” 😭
Technically Oreo is the off brand
It started off that way, but now it is very much on brand.
What’s the issue with soy? Just an allergy?
Yes, I have a soy allergy lol.
I think it’s in the top 7-8 common food allergies in the US, at least.
.3% of the general population.
deleted by creator
I think they meant as opposed to a larger ethical issue that affects everyone, but I agree it was a little too nonchalant.
deleted by creator
Why? Don’t they usually develop young?
deleted by creator
There’s no “just” about allergies, unfortunately.
One of my partners has FND and allergies/sensitivities to some super common shit that gives them seizure like symptoms.
You have no idea how hard it is to work around a combined yeast/coconut/vinegar restriction…
This is just wrong all around.
INGREDIENTS: UNBLEACHED ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE {VITAMIN B1}, RIBOFLAVIN {VITAMIN B2}, FOLIC ACID), SUGAR, PALM OIL, SOYBEAN AND/OR CANOLA OIL, COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA AND/OR CALCIUM PHOSPHATE), SALT, SOY LECITHIN, CHOCOLATE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR. CONTAINS: WHEAT, SOY.
It never occurred to me that people think the white stuff in Oreos is cream.
What did plants ever do to you?!?!
















